19th Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS2020)

Notice: Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the 19th Exotic Beam Summer School has been postponed to 2021. New dates will be announced once the EBSS Board of Directors and the Organizing Committee make the final decision. 

The nineteenth installment of the Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS2020) will be hosted by the Nuclear Science Laboratory of the University of Notre Dame from July 20-July 24, 2020. The summer school will introduce students and young researchers to various facets of the science of exotic nuclei including nuclear structure, nuclear astrophysics, fundamental symmetries, and the application of nuclear science and technology. The format of the school is unique. In the mornings, students will attend lectures from leading researchers in the field of nuclear physics with exotic beams. Lectures will focus on theoretical, experimental, technical and applied topics. In the afternoons, students will participate in hands-on activities in which they directly apply the material they learned in the lectures. These activities will make use of a suite of experimental equipment of the University of Notre Dame’s Nuclear Science Laboratory, including the radioactive ion beam facility TwinSol, and our three on-site electrostatic accelerators. In addition to the lectures and activities, the students will present their own research work during poster sessions.

The EBSS series is sponsored by the US Department of Energy and National Science Foundation, and the following laboratories: Argonne National Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory at Michigan State University, and the Association for Research at University Nuclear Accelerators (ARUNA). EBSS2020 is also sponsored by the Physics Department of the University of Notre Dame as well as the Institute for Structure and Nuclear AstroPhysics (ISNAP).

EBSS Board of Directors:

  • Maxime Brodeur (ND/ARUNA) – local organizer of EBSS2020
  • Kelly Chipps (ORNL)
  • Jacklyn Gates (LBNL)
  • Nicholas Scielzo (LLNL)
  • Dariusz Seweryniak (ANL)
  • Christopher Wrede (NSCL/MSU)

Local Organizing Committee:

  • Maxime Brodeur
  • Dan Bardayan
  • Graham Peaslee
  • Janet Weikel