19th Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS2022)

The nineteenth installment of the Exotic Beam Summer School (EBSS2022) will be hosted by the Nuclear Science Laboratory of the University of Notre Dame from June 6-June 10, 2022. The summer school will introduce students and young researchers to various facets of the science of exotic nuclei including nuclear structure, nuclear astrophysics, fundamental symmetries, and the application of nuclear science and technology. The format of the school is unique. In the mornings, students will attend lectures from leading researchers in the field of nuclear physics with exotic beams. Lectures will focus on theoretical, experimental, technical and applied topics. In the afternoons, students will participate in hands-on activities in which they directly apply the material they learned in the lectures. These activities will make use of a suite of experimental equipment of the University of Notre Dame’s Nuclear Science Laboratory, including the radioactive ion beam facility TwinSol, and our three on-site electrostatic accelerators. In addition to the lectures and activities, the students will present their own research work during poster sessions.

The EBSS series is sponsored by the US Department of Energy and National Science Foundation, and the following laboratories: Argonne National Laboratory, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, the Facility for Rare Isotope Beams at Michigan State University, and Association for Research at University Nuclear Accelerators (ARUNA). EBSS2022 is also sponsored by the University of Notre Dame’s Physics Department and College of Science as well as the Institute for Structure and Nuclear AstroPhysics (ISNAP).

EBSS Board of Directors:

  • Maxime Brodeur (ND/ARUNA) – local organizer of EBSS 2022
  • Kelly Chipps (ORNL)
  • Jacklyn Gates (LBNL)
  • Nicholas Scielzo (LLNL)
  • Dariusz Seweryniak (ANL)
  • Christopher Wrede (FRIB/MSU)

Local Organizing Committee:

  • Dan Bardayan
  • Maxime Brodeur
  • Graham Peaslee
  • Janet Weikel