Lamere recipient of 2016-2017 Browne Memorial Award

Author: Manoel Couder

Browne 1968

University of Notre Dame, Department of Physics, graduate student Edward Lamere has been selected as the 2016-2017 recipient of the Cornelius P. Browne Memorial Award.

For his thesis, Ed Lamere is studying nuclear reactions associated with the production of 99mTc an isotope of critical interest in medical diagnostic. The quality of his work and his daily involvment in the Nuclear Science Laboratory are of the highest order.Dr. Cornelius P. Browne served as the director for the Nuclear Structure Lab for nearly thirty years. Through his hard work and dedication he steered the lab through the most successful period in its history. In honor of Dr. Browne this award is presented annually to an outstanding Nuclear Physics graduate student who has exemplified his work ethic.

Recent award recipients include Dr. Alexander Long (2016), Dr. Karen Ostdiek (2015), Dr. Wenting Lu (2014), Dr. Darshana Patel and Dr. Ethan Uberseder (2013), and Dr. Brian Bucher (2012).

(Photo caption: Dr. Sperry E. Darden, Brother Cosmas Guttly, and Dr. Cornelius P. Browne in front of the new particle accelerator in Nieuwland Science Hall, July 1968.)